How to go
about getting a Tow Safety License and Permit:
- Decide which
type of towing you are to do: Non-Consent, Vehicle
Immobilization, or Consent
Only Towing- means towing, storage, or recovery of any vehicle
which towing, storage, or recovery is done with the permission
of the owner
or other person in charge of the vehicle.
Towing - means towing, storage, or recovery of any unattended
abandoned vehicle as defined in this subchapter (A.C.A. 27-50-1202)
Vehicle Immobilization Service-- means a person
operating or directing others to operate a wheel clamp.
disabled or inoperative vehicle for which the owner preference
is waived by
the owner or person in charge thereof.
- Contact the
office for paper work or you can download a form from our
forms page. Rules and Regulations available on-line
with application instructions and guidelines.
of Arkansas Towing & Recovery Board
PO Box 8285
Searcy, Arkansas 72143
Fax (501) 278-5255
- Have trucks
inspected by any certified law enforcement officer.
- Fill out information
sheet. Return information sheet, an inspection
sheet for each truck, Certificate of insurance, three pictures
of each vehicle (both sides and the license
plate visible on tow vehicle), and payment. (Tow Safety License
renewable annually) (Tow Vehicle Safety Permits $72.00 each,
annually). Check or money order, payable to Arkansas Towing &
Recovery Board. [Note: if
adding a new vehicle, tow vehicle safety permit fee will be
prorated at a rate of $6.00 per month to make it renew with
current tow business license.] Contact office for Vehicle
Immobilzation Service Licensing.
- Consent and Non-Consent
towing: Be sure to include a copy of your
Liability Insurance. Non-Consent towing operators be sure to show "on-hook", "cargo", or
insurance in the
amount of at least $50,000, and Garage Keepers Legal Liability, or impound
coverage, in the amount of at least $ 50,000, (See Rule 9) listing the
Towing & Recovery Board as a certificate holder.